One of our clients got this email from his close friend and since the sender was well known, he decided to click on it and boom, his computer was installed with the Remote Access Software. He realized his mistake and tried to run Malware Scan with known Anti Malware & Virus Software which he was already using it to no success as it didn't find anything. It gave him false feeling of nothing wrong with his computer and continued his day as usual. As most of users never shut down their computer, he left for his Golfing without turning it off. Now the hackers were in his computer, using his Gmail same message was sent to everyone on his Address Book, many of them were discontinued email addresses resulting in mass rejections with errors. Once back, he saw these errors and realized something is wrong so immediately disconnected it from the internet and brought it to us. We found the stealthy remote access service and some auto delete filters in his email account which ...
This Social Security Scam That Gives Hackers Full Access to Your Computer. If you receive an email about your Social Security statement, proceed with caution, hackers are impersonating the Social Security Administration (SSA) to trick people into installing a remote access tool and handing over full control of their devices. How the Social Security phishing scam works It begins with an email that appears to come from the SSA with the message, "Your Social Security Statement is now available" and a prompt to download an attached document. The supposed statement is actually a ScreenConnect client, which grants remote control of the affected device. ScreenConnect is a legitimate remote support platform for IT pros to help users configure systems and resolve technical issues by allowing the same access as if they had your device in hand. Once hackers have control of your computer via ScreenConnect, they can use it for anything from installing malware to transferring files to ac...
Gmail Scam So another kind of scam to get your Gmail credentials. Got this email from some vague email address claiming to be from Google. Link to unsubscribe takes you to a phishing web page wanting you to enter your Gmail User name & password. It's obvious one who falls for it will enter correct User name & Password which will be recorded by the attacker and you might get some error or confirmation so you try again. Meanwhile damage is already done and they have your correct info. These attacks come in different forms like this email or an eVite or some crazy offer which is too good to be true. So be careful and take your time and extra caution before hitting any link. If you are not sure about it just don't do it. There are some tweaks & settings which we implement on the PCs & Macs we work on like changing default DNS, adding Extensions to the Browser and changing some default policies to prevent such attacks. As the saying goes, "Prevention is Alw...